Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:13 p.m. - 2005-11-09
So Uncool
To my suprise I have suddenly become ridiculously uncool. On this, the eve of my 28th birthday (yes, really), it has come to my attention that I am a grown up. And a quintessential grown up at that. The most recent thread of hip that I can find in my house is an issue of Utne Reader from 1997. (wasn't that just the other day?)
To be fair to myself, I guess I have been realizing this piece by piece for a while now. This past winter, my the 6 year old daughter, whom had previously been my biggest fan, informed me that I could not wear my scarf and hat to drop her off at a party because, (are you ready for this?)I looked like a dork. I laughed it off. "Crazy kids," I mused, then helped my self to a root beer barrel from the bottom of my purse.
Soon after that incident, I noticed that my hands looked like "old people hands." I have been constantly slathering lotion and painting my nails, but the sad fact remains that I have the hands of -gasp- a mom.
The other night, I went on a carnival ride with my kids and came away from it feeling lightheaded. In fact, afterwards, I had to take a break. The ride you ask? The Merry Go Round (I still remember when that was a hip store!).
But the most definitive sign of my uncoolness? Lately I've been considering trading in my uber cool SUV for a nice practical mini van.
But, much to the shagrin of my children, I still think I have a little cool left. So when you see the business like Mom in a mini van with the tunes cranked up, banging my head and singing 20-20-24 hours to go- honk your horn and wave. You'll have to excuse my kids for not waving back- they'll be in the backseat trying to duck.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!