Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:20 a.m. - 2005-11-15
Part 1 Chronicle

Let the chronicalling begin!!!
I'm starting this a few months back, so the details of my least recent trips may be a little shady--but that's what makes it fun!
THe earliest visit home I can remember was when Nanny died. Nanny is my best friends grandmother and was our adoptive mother. (We adopted her.) I got the call on Saturday night. The call I was expecting was to confirm that she did actually have cancer. So to learn that the biopsy results were not back yet and that she was gone was a shock to say the least. The next morning I hopped in my car, dropped the kids off with daddy and headed on the 4 hour trip home. ("Home" is how we all refer to the town we grew up in.) It was an emotional week to say the least. THere were probably 20 people spending the week in Nanny and Poppa's 3 bedroom house. Luckily, their neighbors were out of town, so we were about to you their 3 beds, and there was a camper and a room in the garage. We made due. Nanny needed us. Poppa acked me to speak at the funeral, which I promptly declined (I don't cry in front of people and I felt that speaking at a funeral would cause the tears.) Later that evening, however, I realized that Nanny would have told me to "Shut it up and tell a good story for her." So I did. And I cried. Hysterically. In front of a church full of people. When I took my seat, my friend Shelly, Nanny's biologically grandaughter, leaned over and whispered in my ear "Thought you didn't cry in front of people." Then we both laughed and then cried. Then later in a vunerable middle of the night filled with grief moment, I slept with Shelly's 17 year old cousin. A boy that I have childhood memories with. shelly and I almost lost our friendship over it. We didn't speak for quite a while.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!